The 10 Commandments - Why does the Catholic Church Tell Us Only 9?


Here you will learn something very few people know.


Below you will see that the Catholic Church lists only 9 of the 10 commandments. How is this possible? They removed commandment #2 and split commandment #10 into two separate commandments (#9 and #10). The 10 commandments are detailed in Exodus chapter 20. When you see commandment #2 you will figure out why they did that. They are confirmed as being 10 (not 9 or 11) in Deuteronomy 4:13.

Here is the list of the 10 Commandments in the Bible:
1. You shall have no other gods before Me.
2. You shall not make for yourself an idol, or any likeness of what is in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the water under the earth. You shall not worship them or serve them; for I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children, on the third and the fourth generations of those who hate Me, but showing lovingkindness to thousands, to those who love Me and keep My commandments.
3. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain, for the Lord will not leave him unpunished who takes His name in vain.
4. Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days you shall labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is a sabbath of the Lord your God; in it you shall not do any work, you or your son or your daughter, your male or your female servant or your cattle or your sojourner who stays with you. For in six days the Lord made the heavens and the earth, the sea and all that is in them, and rested on the seventh day; therefore the Lord blessed the sabbath day and made it holy.
5. Honor your father and your mother, that your days may be prolonged in the land which the Lord your God gives you.
6. You shall not murder.
7. You shall not commit adultery.
8. You shall not steal.
9. You shall not bear false witness (lie) against your neighbor.
10. You shall not covet your neighbor’s house; you shall not covet your neighbor’s wife or his male servant or his female servant or his ox or his donkey or anything that belongs to your neighbor.”


Here is the list of the 10 Commandments from the Roman Catholic Church:
1. Thou Shalt Not Have Strange Gods Before Me.
2. Thou Shalt Not Take the Name of the Lord Thy God in Vain.
3. Remember that You Keep Holy the Sabbath Day.
4. Honor thy father and thy mother, that thou mayest be long-lived upon the land which the Lord thy God will give thee.
5. Thou Shalt Not Kill.
6. Thou Shalt Not Commit Adultery.
7. Thou Shalt Not Steal.
8. Thou Shalt Not Bear False Witness Against Thy Neighbor.
9. Thou shalt Not Covet Thy Neighbor's Goods.
10. Thou Shalt Not Covet Thy Neighbor's Wife.


Whatever we pray to and whatever we hope will bring us good luck or miracles is our god. Thinking an image of a saint (or Jesus) somehow increases our chances of getting our desires met violates the 1st and 2nd commandments. Our Creator God says He is a jealous God, Exodus 20:5. He wants us to look to Him for our needs. This is better and frees us from worrying about which saints are the better ones to pray to. Now we know all such images and saints are wrong to pray to and not to trust in them for miracles or good luck. We need to repent of violating the 1st and 2nd commandments.

Jewish 10 Commandments

For a list of the 10 Commandments from the Jewish religion click here. They are the same as what is in the Bible.

Philippine 10 Commandments--the World's Largest

All 10 are listed correctly in Baguio, Philippines. Click here


Interesting Bible Verses for Catholics

Click here


With the love of Christ,


Ro.n Jasniow.ski
Palatine, Illinois  60074


_mail Ro.n Jasniow.ski click here

Facebook link


Home | Find Good Church | About Author | Con.tact


Catholic 10 Commandments

Catholic Ten Commandments

Christian 10 Commandments

Christian Ten Commandments

Jewish Ten Commandments

Jewish 10 Commandments

10 Commandments Catholic

Ten Commandments Catholic

10 Commandments Christian

Ten Commandments Christian

10 Commandments Jewish

Ten Commandments Jewish